top of page

How Do You Recognize Housing Discrimination?

How do you recognize Housing Discrimination? Under the Fair Housing Act, it is against the law to:

  • Refuse to rent you or sell you housing

  • Tell you housing is unavailable when in fact it is available

  • Show you apartments or homes in certain neighborhoods only

  • Advertise housing to preferred groups of people only

  • Refuse to provide you with information regarding mortgage loans, deny you a mortgage loan, or impose different conditions on a mortgage loan

  • Deny you property insurance

  • Conduct property appraisals in a discriminatory manner

  • Refuse to make certain modifications or accommodations for persons with a mental or physical disability, including persons recovering from alcohol and substance abuse and HIV/AIDS-related illnesses

  • Fail to design and construct housing in an accessible manner

  • Harass, coerce, intimidate, or interfere with anyone exercising or assisting someone else with their fair housing rights

Based on these factors:

  • Race

  • Color

  • National Origin

  • Religion

  • Sex

  • Familial Status (families with children under the age of 18 or who are expecting a child), or

  • Handicap (if you or someone close to you has a disability

If you believe you have been discriminated against, please contact the Housing Discrimination Complaint HOTLINE at 1-800-669-9777. This information is provided as a public service by the City of Caldwell, Kansas in an effort to ensure fair housing for all.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


PROJECT PERFORMANCE PUBLIC HEARING NOTICE COMMUNITY FACILITIES PROJECT The City of Caldwell will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, June 5, 2024, at 12:00 pm (Noon) in the City Commission Meeting Roo


bottom of page